Student Organizations

Nuclear engineering students benefit from opportunities to join active and diverse student organizations.

The NE department hosts a student chapter of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and the Institute of Nuclear Materials Management (INMM).

The Engineering Student Success Center is the hub for several additional student organizations.

School of Engineering student organizations

Department of Nuclear Engineering student organizations

American Nuclear Society Student Chapter / Trinity Section


The American Nuclear Society is a not-for-profit, international, scientific and educational organization. It was established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the diverse fields of nuclear science and technology. December 11, 1954, marks the Society's historic beginning at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C. ANS has since developed a multifarious membership composed of approximately 11,000 engineers, scientists, administrators, and educators representing 1,600 plus corporations, educational institutions, and government agencies. It is governed by four officers and a board of directors elected by the membership.

Mission: ANS provides its members with opportunities for professional development and serves the nuclear community by creating a forum for sharing information and advancements in technology, and by engaging the public and policy makers through communication outreach.

Purpose: The core purpose of ANS is to promote awareness and understanding of the application of nuclear science and technology.

For more information:

Advisor: Dr. Christopher Perfetti,

President: Lauren Bailey
Vice President: Schuyler Tyler
Treasurer: Rowdy Davis
Secretary: Justin Hamil
Internal Communication: Richmond McDonald
External Communication: Kevin Garcia
Policy & Outreach Officer: Josephine Lewis
Historian: Ryan Pena

Institute of Nuclear Material Management Student Chapter / UNM


The Institute of Nuclear Materials Management (INMM) is the premier nonprofit technical organization devoted to ensuring the safe, secure and peaceful stewardship of nuclear materials for the benefit of mankind.

Nuclear materials management involves the production, use, storage, transport, handling, protection, accounting and other essential aspects involved with the fundamental elements of the civilian nuclear fuel cycle, most notably, uranium and plutonium.

For more information:

Advisor: Dr. Adam Hecht,

President: Matthew Lazaric,
Vice President: Ginger Wright
Treasurer: Matthew Gervasi
Secretary: Phoenix Baldez
Web/Social Media: Seamus Kavaney