Seminar Series

2019 Spring Seminar Series

Seminars are held on Tuesday at 2:30 pm in Farris Engineering Center room 2500.
Topical seminars are scheduled throughout the semester and can be used for seminar credit.

Full time, on-site students are required to attend every seminar that is scheduled. The seminars are posted here on the department website, which students should consult regularly. The number of seminars each semester is typically in the 10 - 12 range. If a seminar is missed, advance notification must be provided to Elaine Finke (efinke01@unm.edu), who compiles the final grade for the class based on number of seminars attended, and can be made up by either attending a seminar in a related field in another department or getting credit for participation in a conference or workshop.

Offsite students at the national labs or part-time students holding full time jobs are required to attend 8 seminars.

Seminar questions contact: Elaine Finke: efinke01@unm.edu or 505.277.2692

January

Tuesday, January 15


Tuesday, January 22

Irradiation damage in nuclear materials: the microstructure evolution, hardening, and characterization methods
Dr. Zhexian Zhang, The University of New Mexico
Host: Osman Anderoglu


Tuesday, January 29

NE Advisory Council / no seminar


February

Tuesday, February 5

Toward the next-generation computational multiscale multiphysics algorithm
Dr. Ryosuke Park, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Host: Cassiano Endres de Oliveira


Tuesday, February 12


Tuesday, February 19

NuScale Plant Electromagnetic Pulse Resilience in Reducing the Threat of a ‘Very Bad Day’
Dr. Camille Palmer, Oregon State University
Host: Anil K. Prinja


Tuesday, February 26


March

Tuesday, March 5

Backscatter Radiography as a Non-Destructive Imaging Tool
Dr. James Baciak, University of Florida
Host: Anil K. Prinja


Tuesday, March 12

Spring Break / no seminar


Tuesday, March 19

W/UO2 for use as Fuel Elements for NTP
Dr. Dennis Tucker, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
Host: Osman Anderoglu


Tuesday, March 26


April

Tuesday, April 2


Tuesday, April 9


Tuesday, April 16


Tuesday, April 23


Tuesday, April 30


May

Tuesday, May 7

Finals week / no seminar