El-Genk receives 2017 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Mohamed S. El-Genk, Regents' Professor of Nuclear, Mechanical and Chemical & Biological Engineering and the founding Director of the Institute for Space and Nuclear Power Studies is selected to receive **the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 2017 Heat Transfer Memorial Award**. The award citation reads "for outstanding contributions to boiling enhancement; immersion cooling of electronics; forced, natural, and combined convection in rod bundles; heat pipes and thermosyphons; impinging and swirling jets heat transfer; thermal-hydraulics of nuclear reactors; and thermal management of space nuclear power systems."

El-Genk is a recognized educator and national and international expert in many technical areas and a prolific author and researcher with a professional carrier extending > 45 years. At University of New Mexico (UNM) he was named Regents' Professor, the 46th Annual Research Lecturer; one of the highest honors bestowed upon a member of faculty, the recipient of Presidential Lectureship Award, Graduate Students' Outstanding Teacher Award, School of Engineering Research Excellence and Teaching Excellence Awards, and Student Faculty Recognition. He supervised 30 MS Theses and 32 PhD Dissertations. He is a Fellow of American Nuclear Society (ANS), ASME, AIChE, and International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety (IAASS), and Associate Fellow of AIAA.. He authored more than 600 refereed and full conference proceedings articles, a book, six book chapters, 50 book volumes and 82 technical reports, and holds six USA US patents.

El-Genk is the recipient of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) **2015 Thermal-Hydraulics Technical Achievement Award** "in recognition of his exceptional contributions to the understanding of terrestrial and space reactor thermal hydraulics phenomena and for his impact on the thermal hydraulics community as a researcher, educator, and leader."

He also the recipient of **United States Department of Energy Certificate of Appreciation,** "for an Outstanding Contribution to the field of Space Nuclear Power and Propulsion," and the ANS **Distinguished Faculty Member Honor**, Alpha Nu Sigma Honor Society for Nuclear Science and Engineering.